PharmCAS Community

PharmCAS EO Indicator Webinar (9/25)

  • 1.  PharmCAS EO Indicator Webinar (9/25)

    Posted 08-29-2019 09:19
    Edited by Libby Ross 09-05-2019 08:46
    You are invited to join us for a free webinar regarding the new Education Occupation (EO) indicator in PharmCAS. You do not need to register for the live event to access the recording, once available.

    PharmCAS EO Indicator Webinar
    September 25, 2019
    2:00-3:00 pm ET (1-2p CT, 12-1p MT, 11a-12p PT)
    Speakers: Jennifer Adams (Idaho State University) and Reggie Ross (Liaison)
    REGISTER

    PharmCAS implemented a new Education Occupation (EO) indicator, derived from an applicant's parental/guardian education and occupation information, in the 2019-2020 admissions cycle. During the webinar, Dr. Jennifer L. Adams, associate dean for academic affairs at the Idaho State University College of Pharmacy, will describe how the EO indicator can assist colleges and schools of pharmacy in better assessing an applicant's socioeconomic status (SES) and identifying a diverse student body.

    Learning Objectives
    • Discuss the intrinsic value of SES as a holistic admissions criterion in health professions education.
    • Describe the research conducted in the development of a pharmacy-specific EO indicator.
    • Review the EO indicator calculation rules for PharmCAS.
    • Access and export the EO indicator data in WebAdMIT.
    • Interpret and incorporate the EO indicator into the local, pharmacy admissions process.

    Reference
    Nohria, R, Adams J, Garrison GE. Inclusion of Socioeconomic Status (SES) as an Additional Criterion in Holistic Pharmacy School Admission Processes." Am J Pharm Ed. 2018. https://www.ajpe.org/doi/pdf/10.5688/ajpe7016

    ------------------------------
    Libby J. Ross, MA
    Senior Director of Student Affairs
    American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
    703-739-2330, x1009
    Lross@aacp.org
    ------------------------------